Tag Archives: Fagan

Brean Stages Rally – Brean Leisure Park,

A couple of weeks ago I popped along to Brean Leisure Park where Club Rally Sport West were celebrating the 20th Anniversary edition of the 2 day Brean Stages Rally which was the first round of the Subaru WRC Spares ASWMC Sealed Surface Stage Rally Championship, the AWMMC Heart of England Rally Championship and BP Motor Bodybuilders & Engineers CMSG Stage Rally Championship which between them attracted 96 entries.

Ford Anglia, Andrew Phipp / Colin Silvester, Brean Stages Rally, Brean Leisure Park,

Cars of all ages were competing above the #22 1966 Ford Anglia Super with a decidedly non standard 2 litre / 122 cui engine was built in 1966, Andrew Phipp and Colin Silvester retired on stage ten of 12.

MG Maestro, Kevin/Megan McCarron, Brean Stages Rally, Brean Leisure Park,

The 1984 MG Maestro driven by Kevin and Megan McCarron was classified 63rd overall one spot ahead of an MG Metro driven by Stewart Wood and Bryony Edmund.

Proton Compact GTi, Ryan Fagan, Jordan Joines, Brean Stages Rally, Brean Leisure Park,

Ryan Fagan and Jordan Joines failed to get a full day’s competition in on either of the two day’s of the even in their 2001 Proton Compact GTi.

Darrian T9, John Lewis / Paul Jones, Brean Stages Rally, Brean Leisure Park,

At the sharper end of the field John Lewis and Paul Jones guided their #33 Darrian T9 into 22nd place.

Ford Escort Mk2, Josh Payton / Marcus Mizen, Brean Stages Rally, Brean Leisure Park,

Having entertained us with his car control at the wheel of a BMW in the Bristol Pegasus Motorsport December Auto Test at Aust Sevrvices Josh Payton and Marcus Mizen were still ‘avin the crack in their 2 litre / 122cui Vauxhall Red Top powered 1981 Ford Escort Mk2 on their way to a Class win and a highly respectable 8th place overall.

Subaru Impreza WRC, Ian Godney / Chrstopher Gifford, Brean Stages Rally, Brean Leisure Park,

Try as they might Godspeed and even Godspeed brakes were not enough to get Ian Godney and Christopher Gifford in contention of the win of the two day event, by the end of which their 1998 Subaru Impreza WRC was looking particularly second hand.

Subaru Impreza S12 WRC, Steve / Yvonne Furzeland, Brean Stages Rally, Brean Leisure Park,

Comfortable winners of the 2016 Brean Rally Stages for the second year running were Steve and Yvonne Furzeland in their 2006 Subaru Impreza S12 WRX.

Thanks for joining me on this Brean Stages Rally edition of “Gettin’ a li’l psycho on tyres” I hope you will join me again tomorrow when I’ll be looking at a Camaro. Don’t forget to come back now !